The perfect climbing rope

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

localboy99

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm looking for the perfect climbing rope that can be used for secured footlocking to get into the tree and then used for a split-tail setup for working the tree.

I've tried Samson True Blue - good for working the tree but a bit stretchy for climbing, Samson Blue Streak - same thing, and Samson Velocity - great for climbing but too sticky for working the tree. Any suggestions?

Huh? Blue Streak has very low stretch, as low as any climb lines I've seen or used.

Poison Ivy is a favorite with footlocker fellas.

I agree I have been climbing on Blue Streak for two years, I have noticed no stretch in it at all.. I have also seen Poison Ivy for performance when footlocking. Personally, I don't know if I could get used to a 11.7mm rope for split tail use.

i like arbormaster the best so far.easy to work with.

i have big hands so i don't think i'd do well with 11.7.

I also have big hands. The 11.7 ropes tie well and are light weight. However, my hands tend to cramp up if I climb on one for very long. My hands weren't made to grip something that small for very long.

I'm probably larger than most of you gus on here. I've been climbing on ArborMaster (Blue Streak / Gold Streak / Black-Red-White) for a while and have never noticed an excessive amount of stretch or bounce. It is my favorite rope, by far.

...and Samson Velocity - great for climbing but too sticky for working the tree. Any suggestions?

The stickiness wears off pretty quick so if you like the rope you're good to go.

The gripping problem goes away withe 11mm ropes if you wear the smurf gloves, doesn't matter how big your paws are. The rubber coated gloves allow a relaxed grip on the rope so there's less wear and tear on your arms.
-moss