total novice!?! HELP!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davvyd

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am very new to not only saw milling, but this hole forum thing too. Please bare with me.
I was reading a recent "thread" about starting a mill by a John Paul Sanborn and i was reading words like piff, pith, "cant", grade, heart etc. and I have no idea what any of these words mean.
I have recently become interested in saw milling because I have also become very interested in woodworking. How much of either have I done? Well no saw milling (obviously) and only 3 peices of woodworking and they were all made out of plywood. easy stuff.
Much like many of you though, i have really enjoyed spending time with tools and definitly enjoying the finish product. someone said in the other "thread" i was reading, that milling/woodworking is addictive; "find a drug". Well that is the truth.
If someone is willing to take the time to reply to a complete beginner, I would really appreciate it. Thanks a lot.

any good books to read?

davvyd said:
I am very new to not only saw milling, but this hole forum thing too. Please bare with me.
I was reading a recent "thread" about starting a mill by a John Paul Sanborn and i was reading words like piff, pith, "cant", grade, heart etc. and I have no idea what any of these words mean.
I have recently become interested in saw milling because I have also become very interested in woodworking. How much of either have I done? Well no saw milling (obviously) and only 3 peices of woodworking and they were all made out of plywood. easy stuff.
Much like many of you though, i have really enjoyed spending time with tools and definitly enjoying the finish product. someone said in the other "thread" i was reading, that milling/woodworking is addictive; "find a drug". Well that is the truth.