Tree Climbing Help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iggy913

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Good afternoon all, I'm looking to begin climbing trees to ultimately remove them and would like a little help from anyone who is willing to offer it.

As far as my own personal experience is concerned I have done some light logging and assisted several friends who own tree services with removing trees, so I'm not a total newbie. I'm not worried about the heights I will be climbing to as I am a firefighter here in VA. I could have one of the dozens of tree services around here remove the trees in my yard but I'm fairly sure I will be looking at thousands of dollars in a bill. I'm not debating the price, I know it's a difficult job.

I'm not looking to start my own business I want to learn the skill and help protect my own property. If I can help friends, family, or neighbors remove some problems than it's all the better.

What I'm looking for is a basic list of what is needed to safely climb and a few good places to get the equipment. I've seen several places that offer "kits" to begin climbing that consist of spurs, a harness, and a flip line. Aside from that and a few good ropes what else should I be looking into?

Thanks for the help.

Well the good news is climbing isn't rocket science, the bad news mistakes can be fatal. Equipment ranges from simple to elaborate. When learning the rule is low and slow. Start by purchasing The Tree Climbers Companion. It's a very informative way to get you started with techniques, equipment, lingo, etc. You've mentioned spurs, you'll only need them for removals and before you even consider slipping them on you should master basic climbing. The most basic setup consists of:
-harness
-rope
-one carabiner
-flip line

Optional basic stuff would be a throwline and weight.