Tree lifespans

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JamesTX

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Do trees have natural life spans like humans and animals or will they live forever as long as they get nutrients?

How long will an oak live, on average?

Just curious.
James

Yes there are life expectancies for trees, which vary from site to site.

Around my parts an oak would have pretty bad chances of a good long life, eucs on the other hand would have good prospects.

Just the other day an new guy fresh out from UK saw a Ficus Elastica and recognised it as they had the odd one back in UK. Asked how old that one would be, "around 50 years," I said ... "jeez 50 years old," he exclaimed, back in UK for one to get that big it would be around 150 years old.

So, I'm no expert on Oaks, but yes, trees have a lifetime.

Have you heard of Memorial Trees?

Quite a fitting tribute, they plant trees for lost soldiers etc and it's quite a fitting memorial as eventually the trees mature then decline, are removed etc ... just like our life cycle. And by the time the tree is dead and gone nobody remembers the individual it was planted for anyways.

I disagree, trees don't have a life span. If they have their environmental needs met and don't get damaged by disease or other outside factors, there's no reason they have to die.
Consider some trees are thousands of years old.
There was an arborist in my area who when encountering a tree dying and he didn't know why, would say, "Yep, she's just dying of old age."
People bought into it, not me though, especially when it was a young tree. :p

Do you think that humans can positively impact the longevity and health of a tree in the wild that has no immediate health problems? By pruning, trimming, feeding, etc.?

TreeCo said: