Vermeer SC252 - changing teeth

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

t-stumpin

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I just bought a used Vermeer SC252 stump grinder and I'm new in this line of work. I don't have the manuals, but they're on order. Can anyone tell me what tool I should to buy to make life easy changing teeth? Maybe I just need a wrench, but I heard they should be torque'd.

1/2" drive hex nut socket and good quality breaker bar will help out a bunch when changing teeth. I also use never seize on the cap screws when reassembling to help keep them from getting frozen. Do a search on site about stump grinders, lots of good info around. Read the manuals when you get them and be very careful, stump machine can be very dangerous.
I would also suggest reading this thread from start to finish to understand how a moment of inattention with a grinder can be life changing. Good luck and be careful.
http://arboristsite.com/showthread.php?t=23463&page=1&pp=15

The 1/2 inch drive 1/2inch Hex socket and breaker bar OR a 1/2 inch hex wrench and a 2.5 foot length of 3/4 inch tubing. Grab the cheater bar at about 18 inch mark and tighten to the technical description-Tighter than heck then three more rounds. (In other words about as tight as you can get 'em with that length of lever. When you loosen use the full length of cheater so you don't rupture yourself. Anti seize is a very good idea. When the bolt heads start rounding replace them right away-if you keep using them when they start wearing and deforming you will wind up with some stuck and have to torch then out! (A program of replacing bolts after every seven-ten tooth changes would be prudent.)