Weed control

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

giantsridge

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
We are landscaping some very large areas of lawn, trying to remove the grass and replace it with gardens, shrubs and mulched pathways. We have already used a sod cutter to remove the existing turf, and were planning to install edging material, landscape cloth, then cover with mulch/plants. In the past, my efforts at weed control have not been successful for more than a couple years, but I have never tried the sod cutting approach before now...I am wondering if this approach is going to keep the weeds from reappearing, or is there a better method we should be considering?

Weed management is an ongoing issue, basically no matter how you go about it.

I love the image created by your description of your project and feel that the cutting of the sod will remove a great deal of the roots. But barring sterilization of the environment, you won't prevent all growth from returning. Nor would you want to in a garden setting.

Sylvia

Weed management is an ongoing issue, basically no matter how you go about it.

So if we go forward with the current plan- lay down landscape fabric and cover with mulch, what do we do when the weeds start penetrating through the mulch in a season or two? It seems we'd be left with a fine mess and I don't want to pull it all up and start over every couple of years!

Thanks for the input.
shawn

Shawn, I am reminded here that the term "mulch" has many descriptions. Since I use organic, whole tree chips as mulch, I tend to visualize that in a discussion. What material are you going to be using?

If you are using a non-organic top dressing, such as rocks, then I would use a high-quality geotextile. The combination will have the longest life expectancy for detering weeds.