What are the most valuable collector saws?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattinky

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I'm new to collecting saws and was just wondering what saws are the most desirable and valuable? Thanks, Matt in KY

Four Paws said:
Anything YOU like. From a monetary value stand point, all of the BIG muscle saws. 090 Stihl, 111 Jonsered, Homelite 750, Mac SP125, and the list goes on. Check out Mike Acres site for lots of good info and interesting reading.

+1, he's quite right. The really curious saws like the rotary engine and twin-cylinder models also seem to command a premium. Oh, and the Homelite chainsaw-powered circular saws seem to be going for a grip on eBay.

Then there are the oddball saws, like my Ford chainsaw or the Orline Mustang or stuff like that, that will command a premium when they're in excellent condition and you get them in front of the right buyer but are worthless to anyone else.

Out of curiosity, what is your goal in collecting saws?

My excuse "was" to keep myself out of trouble. Now with all the stuff I'm dragging home its working against me.

Going to have to make some pretty woodstock soon to get myself out of this one.

At worst.. we are fixing up stuff that the average joe can't or won't.. so thats a valuable resource in itself.

The 090 is the collector king. It brings the most cash on ebay also. The homie 750 and 2100 are probably next in line in that order. After that the sp125 mcculloch seems to be right there.
This is only my observation having aquired some of these myself and always watching the local auctions or ebay sales.