What is a good saw to collect ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JNick24

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to the wold of chainsaw collecting. I do not know much about all the different saws out there. I found a guy who says hes got a bunch a saws to let go all different brands. Im going to look at what hes got over the weekend Ive only talked with him on the phone he said hes got McCulloch, Stihl, Alpine, Homlite, said a solo is floating around some place and more couldnt remember off the top of his head just told me it was better to come take a look. My question is what would be good ones to look for as far as brand ect. What are more common what ones are more collectable. I would like to build on my collection a bit. He doesnt seem like he wants a ton of money for them either but what would be alot to spend on an old saw? Sorry this is kind of a monster question to answer but any help would be great thanks

The brand depends on more personal preference ie.. for me id be looking at the mentioned homelite and possibly the solo but if you can get the stihl for a good price id go for that as well. In all reality any saw is worth collecting and as for a rare saw and finding parts.. thats half the fun of collecting em. As far as price it really depends on the model of saw, could be $25-200 again depending on the model. (all brands you mentioned are good brands)

I wont be a lot of help here cause i just started collecting old saws a few years ago. I just look for good deals. I bought a homelite 26LCS for 40 bucks i figures how could you go wrong a complete saw for 40 bucks? I have 5 older saws now and less than 250 in all of them. make collecting them enjoyable and worry about what you like and want not what everybody else wants or likes.