What saw and mill would work best for my project?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Shane Sciafe

Shane Sciafe

I am new to milling, felling trees, and only have a laymen understanding of chainsaws in-general. I jumped right in and got a stihl o66 (used off ebay) and an Alaskan III (That I have not used yet). I have two month before I start my project and want to know if I have the right equipment for the job. I'm not against trading in what I have for the right equipment (If what I have is wrong).

The project:
We have a 20 acre hill side in Southern Missouri we are planning to build a large cabin on over a few years. We live in NJ and will be spending only a few weeks a year there. We want to use the wood that is there for most, if not all, construction. Framing will be Timber (Post). Most of the wood on the Property is young oak (10 yr), and some other large trees mixed in like yellow poplar, and some white pine. I will also be using the unit on projects at home in NJ. Mostly pine, cedar, and poplar.

I plan to use the same saw to cut down the trees, mill the posts (timber frame) and mill 1x, 2X, and anything else needed. I also want to use the saw for all my fire wood.

Most of the trees I will be working with are under 24" diameter as I gain a better feel I would like to move up to larger (Nice 3' oak on the ground around the corner that has been there for a few years).

It was my understanding I could use the 066 for all this but would need to change bar and chain depending on what I'm doing.

Do I have the right saw and mill? What would you recommend I get before starting; Bars, chains, etc.

Thanks
Shane

betterbuilt

betterbuilt

I build stuff from milled slabs
Welcome to Arboristsite.

First I'd recommend reading the Csm Sticky http://www.arboristsite.com/milling-saw-mills/93458.htm