What's the cheapest log splitter with a 4-way wedge?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

genesis5521

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I live in Northern Wisconsin and collect my firewood from the Nicolet National Forest. I burn 5 full cords a year, but make around 10 full cords a year (trying to get ahead). I don't sell firewood. I just heat with it. I've been using a little Ryobi electric log splitter for 5 years. My rounds are 12 to 18 inches in diameter. With few exceptions, it's split everything I've thrown at it. Split over 50 full cords with it so far with absolutely no issues. I was considering getting a new splitter thinking it would be faster. But in watching tons of splitter videos on youtube, I think my little Ryobi is just as fast as most any single wedge splitter. Now I could be wrong, but somebody has to prove it to me. Here's a video on the Husky 22 ton splitter. $999 at Tractor Supply. huskee 22 ton log splitter - YouTube Now the Husky is a fine splitter, but my little $300 Ryobi can split just as fast. And ~ I'm sitting down as I'm splitting. I can operate the controls with just one hand (instead of 2 hands as the instructions state) and use my other hand to guide the wood into the wedge. I have the rounds stacked on each side of me and I just move down the line as I split while sitting. Unless it's something stringy, the rounds usually split when the wedge is about 3 or 4 inches into the wood. Total cycle time with this method is around 8 seconds. Naturally I have to re-split most pieces. But they fall on the floor right in front of me and it's easy to pick them up to re-split. I toss the splits right into my trailer (as the ram is retracting) for stacking later. By the time the ram is fully retracted, I've got another piece positioned for the next split. My method works pretty slick and it's easier on my old, tired bones.