Why do Amateurs think they know best???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rounder

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
In general, the most arrogant/cocky/over-confident fallers I've encountered are the ones that tear up their saws/bars and make big messes. The best fallers I've worked with have all been easy going guys who didn't talk themselves up, ever. Seems like a pattern that doesn't break.

I like to keep the super-saws away from my strip...I'll saw with those "slow" older guys.

I'm no pro logger, but I think you did the right thing. When you dealing with stubborn or foolish people, often the best thing to do kindly speak your peace and walk away.

In general, the most arrogant/cocky/over-confident fallers I've encountered are the ones that tear up their saws/bars and make big messes. The best fallers I've worked with have all been easy going guys who didn't talk themselves up, ever. Seems like a pattern that doesn't break.

I like to keep the super-saws away from my strip...I'll saw with those "slow" older guys.

Yup...there's a reason they got older. Some guys don't.

I'm a know-it-all amateur and I found this post very offensive! I am, however, most definitely old and slow:biggrin:

Well I'm still alive and know when to walk away.

I was a full time faller but can't do it full time now as my elbows are shot but I still cut mainly for myself and to help out folks when they need it

No harm done. Stick around, this is a pretty good place. Where do you work when you're working?

Here in the Highlands and in NC and VA when I'm stateside......I'm married to a Virginia belle sorry bout the post it came over wrong me thinks .......just don't like folks being hurt due to folkjs doing things that avoidable

Stick around, I wasn't knocking on you, just adding my bit to something that a lot of us encounter on the job.