Why do you care about chainsaw dealer?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Berserker

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I see lots of threads about getting a dealer that they like when buying a chainsaw. I am curious why. How often do you bring your saw in? For me it would just be warranty problems. Is there that many? I have only bought two. I bought them at hardware stores, and had to teach myself features and assemble. Little annoying. But not a big thing.

I blow it out. Change air filter and plug. Oil sprocket on tip. Sharpern my own chain. Though I am sure a pro could do a lot better , I am just a self taught hack.

I am not a pro. So not overly worried about tuning for speed. Curious cause I like to screw with things though. I have read they come rich from factory for break in. I leave mine that way. I have maxed out my oiler. I don't go through enough to worry about cost.

Is this for pros who have them rebuilt because they get so many hours? I am thinking probably not an issue for me. Though I would put a new piston in and re-ring.

I have never cleaned my carb. I wouldn't be afraid to, bit a of a gear head. Just haven't noticed anything. I realize things degrade over time, and we don't notice them.

Is this something more for high end saws? Am I neglecting my saws?

I am just a hack with 40 acres, who likes to cut wood for heating, clean up and making trails. Looking to treat myself to a new saw in the $500 range.

I like to support local business. But other then sale,s of whatever I am buying, and parts, I don't go back.