Wood Splitter Pic's (98% done)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Pacman

Very very nice looking splitter !

How does it split ?

Im not an expert but the wedge looks like you might have to add some kicker to the back side . Then again it might be ok . It looks like you have a very strong machine . Nice job !!!
WHERE THE H Have you been,? Tell us how your splitter is coming along??? E,J,

Nice Splitter

From what I see in the pics It look like nice project and well built.
Keep us posted ...like to see that log lift.:popcorn:

Thanks for all the compliments! I thought I would have to reinforce the stationary end of the cylinder a little. It is only welded on a 1x4" piece of flat stock onto beam. I did use the low hydrogen rod on the wedge. That i think is 6 inches of weld, with about 4 seperate passes across. I plan on using the splitter a while and maybe widen the wedge up with some wings. That should make the stronger. I have welded off and on for a long time, but never employed as one. I know sometimes I need to ask for a little help and you guys have helped. I had to take a quick road trip from Michigan to Missouri, Friday night and just came back. I want to get the splitter out and test it. I will let you know how it worked out.

WOW! I spent 34 years as a Millwright and I sure appreciate the over-engineering. We had lots of raw materials and tended to over-engineer everything.
Quality work you have there.
Would you adopt me so I can be in your will? I only want the splitter LOL :hmm3grin2orange:
Gordie, thanks for the offer, but my son helped build it too, so he gets first pick:) . When I get old and retire I just want to sit back and :cheers: Michigander

again super clean design!!!

looks like all that's left is a hydraulic lift and hydraulic four way..

what did you weld it with? Mig? 200amp? which wire? what gas?