woodland pro 33rp

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGoodwin

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to the chainsaw milling but I am having a great time. I have an 066 BB with 36" bar running the woodland pro 33rp chain from baileys. I live just north of seattle so I am only milling doug fir and a little madrona. As you can see in the picture (I hope it posted correctly) I am getting considerable gunking and have always had it. Is this normal? Initially I felt it should be cutting faster (cut quality has always been smooth) so I dropped the rackers from the facotry set of .022 to .035 which sped things up considerably without any real decrease in cut quality. I have used the oregon bar attachment style shapening and had it professionally sharpened with the same results. I was thinking of getting some Oregon 75RP but there seems to be more discontent with oregon and a strong preference with stihl. Does Stihl make a ripping chain? After reading through the posts it seems like I should be getting faster times. I am not trying to make the fastest cut, but I also dont want to be wasting time and causing needless wear. The motor thus far has had zero power issues. First starting out I was getting near-dust but now am getting chips/strands. Any and all thoughts would be greatly welcomed.

Matt

Suggest you start by reading Aggiewoodbutcher's chain comparisons, if you haven't already. Aggie did some timed tests in a cant with various chains. I don't have the link handy but it should come up in a search. The short answer is that there isn't a huge speed difference between the various types of chains.

Second, before we can decide whether your setup is cutting fast or slow, we need a number to work with. How many inches per second and how wide is the slab ?