Would you buy a mill to build a house?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soilarch

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm looking at the daunting task of building/buying my first house in the next couple of years. (I'm graduating in May).

Of course, buying is easier...wouldn't we all prefer to build though?

What makes this even remotely feasible is that I live in a very rural area and my family owns land and some wood. We are farmers by trade.

I do not have specifics of the house plans, or what species of wood....etc...etc...etc...loan rates, budget, timeline....etc...etc...etc. I do know that right now you're NOT going to get a building loan period. You can get a loan to buy, but not build. I can say that our's is your typical midwest mix of Oak and maples with hickories through in for good measure. (Hickory is no-no for building anyways...I think...no? I'm off topic now.)

I'm basically asking if you guys think it would be worth the effort to spend the winters cutting, milling, and storing hardwoods for the 2x portion of framing...and if things work out some larger stuff for decorations. (I certainly won't be building a dream-house ranch home with vaulted ceilings and massive 12x12 exposed rafters...but I'm sure I could work "nicer" things here and there.) I should make the disclaimer that this thread is for looking a minimum 2 years into the future...more likely 5-10.

Go out, get some books, or take the path more traveled and leave my time body and mind for other things?

Last edited:
Well, i think that you could possibly save some money by milling your own lumber, but the question is what kind of time are you willing to invest?
It will take some serious time to fell the wood, mill it out and let it dry, as well as over plan for some that will inherently warp.