Young generation of tree workers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IcePick

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've just about had it. A young guy has been shoved onto my crew because of his ineptness on his former crew. It was either get fired or I try him out. Well, he's a good climber(lots of potential I should say) so I told the boss to send him my way, I can work with him. Well after saving his job, this joker comes aboard with absolutely no appreciation, he doesn't listen, he's a cocky S.O.B, and even when I snap on him it goes in one ear and out the other immediately. Can he really be this stupid? Keep in mind he's been with this company for a year and a half, and of course, he thinks he's the #### and the only one capable of climbing nasty stuff (even though I've been doing it for FIFTEEN years now).

I've no energy left dealing with this #### anymore. I've already grounded one guy who came into the company with lies of doing crane removals etc...even though he struggles to climb a ####ing crab apple, and since he is nothing more than a ground guy (in his mind he's master climber) anymore, he bumbles around picking his ass.

These young punks that come into this business are a joke in my mind. Most of them show no respect for the veterans and feel like since they went through a semester climbing course that they don't need to listen to anyone because they know it all.