MS 291 performance advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsleighton

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've been reading AS periodically for about a year but this is my first time posting. I have spent a lot of time reading previous posts trying to answer my questions, but at some point, you've got to go right to the source! I have at least some experience with small machines and chainsaws, perhaps having cut 10 cords of wood in my life. I have owned an MS 291 for about 2.5 years and have used it to cut about 5 cords of wood. I would guess in total I have used about 8-10 tanks of fuel, but certainly less than 15. The saw has been slow to rev up, and I don't think I am achieving good high rpms/performance, and not sure if that's break in, tuning, muffler, or all of the above. In short, I would like some advice on carb tuning and possibly muffler modding.

As for the carb, I only recently decided to check, and found the H adjustment to be set fully counterclockwise. After watching videos here, I went to WOT, and turned the H screw the 3/4 turn clockwise allowed by the limiter, and noticed absolutely no change in saw noise (I did notice changes for L and LA). Does this seem realistic given I still have a stock saw (limiter present) or should there be a change? I have looked at pictures and think I could handle getting around the limiter problem if needed.

As for the muffler, I did a very small MM to an old 025 I used to have, but the muffler on the 291 is all crimped up, and I can't seem to figure out how to remove it/open it to at least clean (or remove) the spark arrestor or possibly increase the exhaust hole diameter. Facing the saw from the tip of the bar, there is a hole on the left of the muffler where I think I can see screen inside... is this the intake hole? What are the two things on the front of the muffler?