261/262xp exhaust port area 4 muffler mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gwiz

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Every post I make here, I just know I'll get a good bashing from someone who knows more than me. Just the other day someone was quick to criticize the guy who wanted to build his own bucking spikes using AutoCAD when he could have bought new ones for $15. That caught my eye because I'm just learning to use AutoCAD: a very handy tool for such things.
I just traced the shape of the factory cylinder exhaust port of my 261 and then measured it as accurately as I could with the tools I have. Then I drew it on CAD so the computer could figure the area for me. After printing the shape at full scale, I held it back inside the cylinder to confirm a near perfect shape and size.
Maybe there is a better source of area out there that I haven't heard of, but I know this was a lot easier than trying to figure this area by hand. I figured the area at .4169 square inches.
Maybe that can help someone with there muffler mod. How does that compare to any of your figures for the same saw?
Maybe when I take the muffler apart to drill more holes I'll calculate the area of the factory exhaust in relation to the exhaust port area. We'll see how far below the recommended 80+% the factory EPA muffler was.
James

The most important thing is to make sure that your new piston is a domed 262xp one - and then you need to get the much less restricted 262 muffler, and the better clutch......:)

Domed or flat top?

The most important thing is to make sure that your new piston is a domed 262xp one - and then you need to get the much less restricted 262 muffler, and the better clutch......:)