353 Muffler Mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
huskyboy1978

huskyboy1978

ArboristSite Member
Hello All,

I'm new to AS and have been bitten by the chainsaw bug. I purchased a Husky 353 several months ago for firewood and ditched the cat muffler after my first use. The saw has about 20 tanks thru it now and has started to wake-up (I was worried the first day I had it out with the cat muffler on it - it was a dog to say the least - swapping the muffler and richening up the carb made all the difference in the world).
Now I want to see if I can get a little more out of it with a muffler mod. I have done the research and have decided to do a thru the bracket exhaust hole with screen. My question is what is the best hole(s) size to use. I have read from different spots anywhere from one 1/2" to two 1/2" on this saw.
What size are you using and how's it working?

Earl

HUSKYMAN

HUSKYMAN

Addicted to ArboristSite
A single 1/2" hole is a good mod, and the saw will not be obscenely loud.

If you want to do two holes I would do two 3/8" holes, the saw is only 53cc. For a bigger saw like a 70cc saw you can try 1/2" holes. It all depends on how loud you want the saw to be

huskyboy1978

huskyboy1978

ArboristSite Member
Thanks, that's the kind of advise I was looking for - I didn't want to overdue it and two 1/2" holes seemed a bit much.
I'll go with one 1/2" with screen installed and richen it up a bit afterward. I will probably do it this weekend and it a test Sunday. Will the gain be easily noticable (and I'm not talking about the noise gain:))?

Tazman1602

Tazman1602

ArboristSite Operative
Thanks, that's the kind of advise I was looking for - I didn't want to overdue it and two 1/2" holes seemed a bit much.