Anyone have experience with companies that offer a dual service?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joezilla11

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Example: roofing and tree service, or construction and tree service? I've been roofing for over 10 years and have been working for myself now for a few years while continuing to work with other contractors. In my pursuit to become an arborist ive been considering keeping my roofing business and offering trimming and pruning as it pertains to roofs and overhanging branches. I would continue to pass along the difficult tree services and removals to the experienced tree guys. Just wondering if this is a good marketable approach? This would be a long term goal after I get training and experience in the field. Tree work is what I want to do but roofing is what I currently know how to do. Thought it might help me transition into the field. Any thoughts or experiences? Note- a lot of my work is repairs and I come across trees that need this service. Also I have no problem giving up roofing as that was my original approach I just thought I could work off what I have. Thanks

Seems like a logical service to offer with your roofing business. If you have clients that know you and trust you they will be glad if you can trim trees as a prevetative measure for the life of their roof covering. JMTC Brian

Just my opinion. I would not want a tree service roofing my house and I would not want roofers working on my trees. If you plan on becoming an arborist I would keep it separate from the roofing business. To many people think they can tack on tree work to a landscaping,construction, yard maintenance company. I think that is the main reason if you know anything about trees driving down the road can be painful looking at all the hacked trees.