CS-330t issue

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kyler Monares

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
CS-330t.
Bogs down and dies when I touch the throttle.
Saw starts right up, idles beautifully.
Pulled muffler and screen, clear.
Air filter clean
Dumped old gas and threw in some Tru Fuel premix. Starts and idles no problem. Then I pulled the cover and air filter off again and find a hose barb under the carb with no hose on it. There's no hose hanging inside or around. Isn't even a hole where a hose can be routed through anywhere under the filter cover. Ideas? Return to tank?
Took the top handle off and there's only a single fuel line coming from the tank.
This problem happened abruptly the way it was described to me. This was my dads saw.
I'm pretty new to working on saws. Been working with them for years though.

Edit: I've searched AS for similar problems with this model saw and they all seem to be fixed by cleaning the filter screen or someone even had a malfunctioning chain break or clutch. I have checked those and the chain turns freely

There isn't supposed to be a hose on that barb, don't worry about it.

Since you have the grey version, it's a bit older, grab a new spark plug and put it in.

The bog is probably a tuning issue. You are either getting too much fuel or not enough, probably too much.

The filter screen is inside the carb. If you want to check that you need to take the carb off, open the "top" as it sits on the saw and gently remove the two gaskets. Under the gaskets is a deep hole about 1/4" across and that hole has a screen across it down in there a little ways. Anything that gets by the fuel filter in the tank gets caught here.

You should be able to find a video on this, all two cycle carbs have similar construction and function so it won't have to a model specific video.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk