Drolet Tundra Wood Furnace

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whiskyjo

Reaction score
Well I have my new furnace installed for a week now and I'm having trouble with black creosote water dripping out of my 90* elbow. My wood is two to three years old ,mixed hardwoods light as a feather and dry. If I add three pieces of wood over hot coals and set the thermostat to come on my black pipe reads about 250 to 300 degrees but once it gets to the set position the thermostat shuts the damper down and the gases ignite but my stove pipe cools down to 150 degrees and I start to get the dripping black water from my elbow. I have 1- 90 out of the stove 18" of stove pipe then another 90 turning it into the masonry flue that is about 15 feet tall. What am I doing wrong and why is my pipe not getting hot enough? Any help would be appreciated I have been heating with wood for over 37 years now and have never had this problem with my old Franklin or Englander or my Buck stove. This add on furnace has me stumped,, I can set the thermostat at 90 degrees and run thru the wood like and older stoves but the wife doesn't like me leaving four windows open just because it's 88 degrees inside.

Draft is most likely your issue. I would advise you to get a manometer to check. see @brenndatomu . Also you could learn alot from the thread (introducing brand new wood furnace - the drolet tundra ) Its real long, but informative. Good luck.