Eco fan by Caframo to circulate wood stove heat

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ratso

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I recently got one from a hospice thrift store and this little fan is excellent. I can't say the room is hotter but the rest of the house sure is.

Seebeck effect device generates the dc power, with one side at close to room temp & other on stove-top.

Got one a few years ago. It worked for much of a season, then it died. Much simpler to run ac power th a little pancake fan, through a timer switch that can be actuated for a variety of intervals, like 15 min. to 4 hrs. Much, much cheaper than the "ecofan".

I've been using an eco fan for many years. It does what I had hoped it would do when I got it. It distributes the heat from the stove into the room. I also can tell from a distance when the stove needs a refill. It is pricey and the motors do wear out, but they are replaceable for around $20. Always glad to run something that doesn't add to my electric bill. I get two or three seasons out of a motor. Don't know if there have been improvements in the newer models; anyone have the new version?
We also have an electric door corner fan to circulate heat to other rooms.
I have a stack fan to aid the poor draw for my shop stove. I use it to get the fire going, and to prevent smoke from getting in the shop when refueling the stove. Once the stove gets going, the draw is OK.