Excited New Turner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sb47

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I’m new to wood turning, and I am excited about a piece I’m doing. This is a piece of fork with burl next to it. This is my very first time turning something so I started with something simple. This piece was going to be a bowl but it kind of wanted to be an egg so who am I to argue with what the wood wants.
I took it out of the lath to take the picture, I’ve got it back in the lath for some sanding and I’m working on the finish. I’m just going with a clear polyurethane high gloss finish I put the first coat on tonight.

I do have a question though. Some of the wood on this piece is very soft sponge wood. What is the best thing for stabilizing those soft spots?
For now on this piece I’m attempting to inject the soft wood with the poly and a syringe.
I’m sure this is not the best way but I’m just trying it to see how it does.

34r6d92.jpg

wc076g.jpg

wlicp.jpg

kb7lfo.jpg

Last edited:
Very nice.

I know nothing about stabilizing, although I turn stabilized wood for duck and goose calls. Probably pretty tough to do casually. If it is going to sit on that shelf, you've probably done enough already.

Good job.

Pete

nice work. ive done some work with pieces of wood with punky sections. mostly i just keep soaking the area with CA glue. i know of poeple that stabilize their own wood,not something i want to get into. best bet is to browse some wood turning /working forums.

I can't remember where I saw it, but it was a product called Cactus Juice, (I think), for do it yourself stabilizing. Google it maybe.

I like your work.

Pete

I can't remember where I saw it, but it was a product called Cactus Juice, (I think), for do it yourself stabilizing. Google it maybe.

I like your work.

Pete

That fella is on IAP....Curtis.