First post and first chainsaw, I'll be needing help, I'm sure!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaeger_S2k

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Great warm helpful site. Have been a licensed listener for a few weeks and have gleaned a lot of good info and advice (mostly overheard from others questions).

I'm a lover of profession equipment and have most of my everyday tools in the professional range, I'm a plumber/Gas fitter to trade and was trading as a handyman for a couple of years, so have an appreciation of prof equipment and rarely would buy anything else.

Like the style of Husky's and have a dealer within 50 miles. Looked at the 240, 240E, 236 and a lot of other saws only to find on searching here, they aren't in the pro league, not that thay aren't good saws. However I walked the line and was persuaded by the unanimous opinions of the 262XP and managed to find one, so I bought it. It's going to give me the option of running a larger chain for anything offered that needs the muscle but due to it's weight isn't a heavy lump. From memory I think it'll handle a 28" with relative ease (now that's a big chain to me!) It's currently sporting a 15" but that needs replacing.

So we're planning on a wood burning stove and that'll be installed sometime next year.

Planning ahead we're going to start getting wood and stocking up. Initially we've got access to 300 Lodge Pole Christmas trees (my friend supplies them to shops and offices for the outside of their buildings) that will be coming down in the next 2 weeks. I know a 262XP is a bit over kill for the C/T's but I've also got hold of a new electric 2.4Kw chainsaw that'll deal with them quite well. My few on the 262 was that it's a great one saw plan till others are affordable and available.