First "real" tree felling

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cityevader

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Posting here because you "firewood" guys are like kinfolk compared to other forums here, plus I was felling dead standing Oak for firewood.

Anyhoo, previous to discovering this site, I've had very little felling experience, with no obstacles or hazards, and twice I've had 'em fall opposite to desired, once while I was forty feet up a sevent foot Doug Fir and had it fall backwards over me..... Iam/was the dangerous type you don't want on your property.

But thanks to this site, I've finally started to think.

Was just out on a friend's lot to cull dead wood in a fairly dense, sloped area. Had about a 14" 45-foot Oak with an uphill lean with the tangling branches of many other trees creating real hang-up hazards. Only possible landing site was the 10 feet betweed two Redwoods across the slope and about 5-7 feet downhill.
I used the newly discovered sights (thank you AS!) on my Husky 359 to make face cuts, then carefully backcut a tapered hinge with about 3" on the downhill end and 1" on uphill end, to keep it holding against the lean and pull it sideways a bit.

Yeehawwww!!!! Nailed it about 2 feet off center between them redwoods!!!!

Couldn't have done it without AS!!!

Am I still the dangerous type you don't want on your property....probably!!
But now I'm thinking things through at least!!

Good for you! Congratulations! You just did something I will never do! Cutting downed logs is all I want in my lifetime (I'm old, too old to learn how to fell a tree. And besides, I don't like heights! Ha! Ha!)