Good/Best Carving Saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wuwayne1818

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to arborist site and carving as well. Over the winter I had a 75 foot ash tree cut down on my property and had them leave the stump so I could carve a bear. I got a new john deere cs46 (pro series) with a 16 in bar and got to work. I love the john deere but cannot find a carving bar. I am now looking for a carving saw. I talked to the guy at the stihl dealer about the 390 and 290 models but they are both close to 13 pounds. My girlfriends father has let me use his husquvarna 445 with is an excellent saw for blocking out and such. I know these saws are all moderate use saws, should i go with a pro saw, or are the occasional use saws good enough for what I need. You guys are the experts; what would be the best saw for me to get for my occasional carving. I want something that can accept a dime tip carving bar. I assume it will be between husky and stihl.

Thank you guys very much.

one other question

I hear from everyone that stihl, husky and jonsered are the best. How about echo? Is it true that they are the number one carving brand? And since some small saws have such a small tip on the bar, do you still need the dime time bar??? I just want a saw that will last a long time and help me detail my work the best.

Thanks again!

Well thanks for all the pointers, lol.

I'd just be patient with this question. There are a few very good carvers on this site but this section doesn't get a lot of traffic. I don't know a lot but you do want a saw that's easy to handle and feels comfortable to you. My Stihl MS250 is a decent saw. Carvinmark will be along eventually to give you some expert advice.
Say, is Sterling Heights down by Detroit? I grew up near Lansing.

Sorry I haven't been around for a while. Expert? LOL. I just have fun with it.