Is this Shagbark Hickory?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Longwood

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Yesterday I cut wood this and posted some pics thinking it was Oak. After thinking about it and looking a some tree websites I'm now thinking its Shagbark Hickory. It was a dead,very old, huge tree with at least a 5ft dia. trunk.
Can you guys look at this pic of the bark and tell if its Shagbark Hickory?

Thanks in advance,
Longwood

I think it is white oak

Hard to tell. what does the grain look like? How does it split?stringy?

There is another variety of hickory, we call pignut, it is not a "shagy"and it slits alot harder.

Yep

Thats shag bark hickory,in my area I believe the shag bark and pig nut are the same.Anybody know for sure?
Russ

I'm no expert, but I would tend to agree on the white oak. The thing that points that way to me is the ray fleck. The way it's split, it's exposing a "quarter-sawn face." If you were to slab that piece and plane it, it would pop out more, but I can already see some even in its raw state.

One way to know for sure would be to soak some steel wool in some vinegar for a couple of days, then soak a small piece in it. If the wood turns a dark, dark gray (almost black), then you've definitely got white oak. Hickory has very little tannin, and white oak is full of it. The iron acetate would react with the tannin and turn black. No tannin...no black.

p.s. One word of caution I forgot...if you soak steel wool in vinegar, it produces hydrogen, so either leave the jar uncovered, or poke holes in the lid to let it escape!

Last edited:
I agree with white oak.Smaller diameter shagbark hickory branches arent shaggy.Also hickory is redder.I just came in from cutting a load.