Need advice on grinding large blowovers ...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cupocoffee

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've been grinding stumps for several years but I have never done a blowover. I have seen only three, here in Oklahoma, and they were probably about 8-10' across. I use a Vermeer SC352 but I am going to pick up a new Carlton SP7015 in a week and I would not be intimidated to take something like that on with my new grinder. If someone has experience, and would like to share it, I would appreciate it. I have only seen one video on Youtube which shows a guy grinding one, in Australia, but I couldn't really tell too much about what he was doing. I know there has to be a technique to keep the top of the rootball from collapsing onto the grinder. I know there are plenty of guys out there who are ready to flame me for asking a very simple question so go find someone else to berate. I am asking this in hopes someone, who has experience, would like to share some safety tips. I did see a group of Hispanic men grind one with an RG1625 and they only charged the homeowner $250. I wanted to talk to them but they didn't speak English. I talked to the homeowner when I saw him outside later and he told me they rented the grinder and hauled off a boatload of chips. They did a great job. That price seemed very, very low to me considering they rented the equipment plus hauled off debris and there were several workers. What do you guys typically charge on large blowovers? I know that is a wide open question, just like when someone calls and asks, "How much do you charge to grind a stump?" Ha! Any productive ideas will be appreciated.

I'm in Ky and when we do grind blow-overs we either: