New Chainsaw Advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nbouley010

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Brand new here and feels great so far; seems like a great community. So hopefully we can keep this civil for this newbie.:buttkick:

Thinking about finally getting my own saw. I've been using a Stihl MS261 for the past 6 months at work and enjoy it. What are some pros/cons of this model or some comparable make+models? I'd be doing some felling, lots of bucking and limbing, and I am thinking about possibly trying some basic chainsaw carvings. Tips/advice/experience highly welcomed.

I read your headline, and my first thought was that there is no new chainsaw advice! :D All the advice available has already been given by someone to someone at some time!

The standard advice is to check out your local dealers reputations, and go from there.
Good luck in your hunt for a new saw. Whatever brand and size you decide on, rest assured it will be wrong in many posters eyes, and will be an excellent choice in an equal number of eyes as well!

Ted

If you're already familiar with the MS261, that would likely be a good choice for a primary saw. Then you will likely want a smaller saw, especially if you do any carving. Then maybe a bigger saw down the way...

Welcome to A.S.!

What FOP said.

You described several different tasks, so it is hard to pick one saw that will do it all. The MS 261 is a good 'all around' saw; about 50cc and a 16' or 18" bar. But it won't cut through larger logs, or fell large trees as well as a 60-70cc saw with a larger bar. That saw is too heavy for limbing. So many guys start with one mid range saw, and work towards a '3 saw plan'.

Think of it like golf: nobody plays with just one club (and they are chasing that same little ball the whole game!). Trees vary in size and type!