new climbing rope.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cool1937

Reaction score
hi i am just getting into the tree trimming buisness on my own. I worked for a tree service for about a year and now im starting out own my own and there are a few things they never taught me because i realy didnt have to know working for them. now i need help lol. here is my qustion

what is the best knot for atatching a clip to the end of my new climbing rope? im going to be using it with a friction hitch but it wont get alot of use since i dont have to climb to much yet. any help would be greatly apreciated.
thanks
Evan

You'll need to go into a bit more detail about your specific setup man.

I use a double fishermans knot to terminate with a Schwabisch and micro pulley slack tender on a separate carabiner.

For years I used a Bowline, now I use a Figure 8 for attaching to a snab/carabiner/clip :poke:eek:r whatever you want to call it. For the friction hitch I used the Tautline for years but now use a Blake hitch followed with a figure 8 stopper knot in case your hitch becomes a little loose. For starters try learning a few basic knots and get to know them well instead of fumbling with knots that your unsure of when aloft in a tree. When you get used to those then start learning new ones. For instances I only use the Figure 8, and a Blake hitch for 95% of my work. Those two knots, a couple snaps, and carabiners allows me to safely take down most medium size trees here in Missouri. Other knots I'll use but not to often is Double Fishermans, Sheet bend, Pursik, Timber hitch and Running Bowline, however even then I can subsitute most of those with a figure 8, blake and a few carabiners. Buy a little book called the "The Tree Climber's Companion" It's only about $20 bucks, easy to read, and filled with good info. Good luck.