newbie stihl 026 saw question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fletcher0780

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm new to chainsaws and have a few questions. I have a stihl 021 for brush trimming and small firewood, and recently bought a use stihl 026 that came with a 20" bar and 3/8 .50 chain. I should preface my questions by telling you that I have limited strength in my left arm from a 10 year old nerve injury so I can't handle too heavy of a saw and limiting kickback is important.

I feel very comfortable running my 021 (not comfortable enough to become complacent), but found that it's just not enough saw for anything over 8" wood, hence the purchase of the 026. I did a lot of research and most of it pointed to the 026 as a good lightweight firewood saw. I've been told that the 20" bar should help reduce kickback, but the owner of the local saw shop said he thinks it's too much bar for such a small saw especially when using the bigger 3/8 chain. Is this bar/chain/saw combo uncommon? I did a test cut with the saw today (new chain) and found that it cuts well, but I can't put any pressure on the saw or it bogs a bit. What do you have for suggestions?

If you cut hardwood, it is definately too much for good performanse - 16" and .325 is more like it.

...you could try full skip chain on that 20" bar, but it will cut rougher and be more kick-back prone.

Last edited:
If you cut hardwood, it is definately too much for good performanse - 16" and .325 is more like it.

...you could try full skip chain on that 20" bar, but it will cut rougher.

I agree with the Troll, 16" and .325; plus you won't find yourself holding the saw back as much(less strain on your arm) just let the saw eat.

Kickback is a product of not knowing where your upper tip is; IMO a too long bar, especially when bucking a pile of wood is just as dangerous.