Ran 32" bar on 390xp w/ full comp and full skip. My thoughts.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rngrchad

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I see the threads come up all the time asking: "what cuts better fullcomp or skip? What runs smoother full comp or skip? Should I run skip? Etc Etc. Tonight I had the rare opportunity to lay into a humongous Red Oak that was dropped off at our work yard on a low-boy equipment trailer. The oak stick measured roughly48"+/- for over 18ft! Anyhow I took the time to switch out chains a few times just to get a feel for any differences good or bad. Thought some may be interested as most of the info on this topic is related to Western firs, pines and softwoods. Keep in mind this is my take on things...I'm no pro-logger.

Wood: Red Oak
Saw- 390xp
Bar- 32" Oregon pro-lite
Chains- Oregon 72jgx (full skip)
Oregon 72glx (full comp)
72Jgx- It "self fed" really well and threw rather big chips. With the bar fully buried into oak the 390xp turned it with ease. I made really quick progress on 5 bucking cuts and the chain did not feel any considerable dullness whatsoever. I made a mental note on how it felt in the hardwood. When cutting smaller limbs off surrounding woodpile to clean workspace, the full skip felt like I had to apply more pressure to the tip in order to make a "quick" cut.