Saw recommendation for a rookie?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlueRidgeMark

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Greetings, gentlemen and other critters!

Thanks to all who contribute to this site. I’ve learned a lot just by reading the threads. I know the question of “which saw should I buy” has been asked before, and I’ve read those threads, but I’m going to ask it again.

Just because you enjoy answering it! :D

I’m a rookie at chain saws. I’ve had a Craftsman of unknown engine size. 18” bar. With that I felled about 2 dozen trees, mostly alanthus (yech!) with some pine, a mulberry, and an odd hardwood with beautiful, dense, olive colored wood. Wish I could have made some lumber out of that. That was in a city back yard, tight quarters, and most of those trees were 30 to 60 feet (a couple lightly brushed the opposite fence when they went down), maybe 5” to 12” DBH. The hardwood went 14”. All fell where I wanted them, so going slowly and carefully paid off.

Anyway, I bucked all that, trimmed a lot of limbs above ground. I also carved a 36” pine round, about 14” thick, into a planter. That was fun. That’s about my experience level. Not exactly a pro, here, but I know I enjoy cutting wood. :laugh:

I’m now the happy owner of some country land, and I have a woodstove as my primary source of heat, so I’ll be cutting some firewood. Something like 10 to 15 cords per year, I think. I also have about a dozen trees that need to come down soon. Mostly pine, similar in size to what’s described above. I have one that might go 16”. That's about the upper limit for my property, but I may get into bigger stuff elsewhere. I have an offer of a dead oak tree for the taking, and some other land to be cleared of unknown size stuff.