Stihl 038 avs to mag conversion plus a few mods

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canadian farm boy

Stihl learning
Reaction score
Let me first start by saying that I'm new to the forum. I have read almost every thread I could find that deals with the stihl 038 saws.

I work as a professional heavy truck mechanic and have done a lot of different work on a lot of different types of engines. I've done some port and polish work before on car engines. I've never really done much work on small 2 stroke engines.

Now to my build plans.

I recently acquired a stihl 038 avs. electronic. The saw was built in Brasil and originally purchase in 1993. The saw didn't run when I got it. I found that the piston and cylinder was shot. I've done my research and decided to install a mag p&c. I'm aware of the necessary modifications that need to be done to the cylinder mounting holes.
The muffler that came with the saw is a dual port and is in excellent shape. I plan to do a muffler mod as soon as I get my new p&c. I plan to measure the exhaust port on the cylinder and mod the muffler outlets to total 70-80% of the port outlet area. Gasket match muffler to the cylinder.
I've read that a lot of guys will leave the cylinder base gasket out as a means of increasing the squish. I too was planning to not use the base gasket as long as I have enough clearance between the piston and the top of the cylinder(0.020" minimum I believe)
I want to clean up the casting flaws in the intake port and the transfer tubes, leaving the surfaces slightly rough to assist with fuel and air flow into the crank case and into the cylinder. I may try and open up the intake runner but haven't decided for sure yet.