Stihl 084 AV Ignition Coil

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jsoluna

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a mechanic by trade and recently had a customer bring me an 084 AV Stihl Chainsaw in need of repairs. There's no spark at the plug, and I've come to the conclusion that the ignition coil is fried. Not entirely uncommon, I hear. Problem is that I cannot find a replacement coil anywhere, used or new. I know they're NLA from Stihl.

Coil Part Number:

1124 400 1308

Any leads?

Thanks!!!!

Justin

I read an old post describing how to SOMETIMES Revive a defective coil.
Of course this will not work everytime because if the coil is "fried" ---it won't.
His suggestion was to remove the spark plug and also to lubricate the cylinder wall, and make sure the clearance between the flywheel and coil is correct---app. 012. Proceed to spin the flywheel with an electric drill, at about 2,000 rpm, being sure rotation is in the right direction. C/C in most cases. Flywheel may have to be spun for a length of time but I had results within a few seconds from a DEAD coil.
I am fortinate enough that I have a Lathe and it is a simple matter to set the components up and run the procedure.
I had TWO dead coils and this worked on both and the saw has continued to work.
These modern day coils are complicated because many change the engine timing and also limit the maximum rpm.
Much better then a point type ignition because at 13,000 rpm there would be "floating" and other problems.
Good Luck--might work for you and it will cost nothing

I also tried seeing if condensation internally in the coil was the problem, let it get nice and warm atop my wood stove, no luck. I've fixed a lot of Lawn Boy 2 cycle coils this way, at least temporarily.

(1) Check all wires for continuity first and then use an ohmmeter to check the resistances. See the service manual.