Stihl Bar Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rxpx40

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Noob here. Looking for facts, opinions are certainly welcome.
I have a Stihl 391 with a 20 inch bar. 3/8" pitch and .063 bar rail width. Looking to buy a new bar, and discovered the original part 3003 008 6121 is no longer available. The replacement 3003 000 5221 is a pricey bar.
I found a .050 width bar at half the price of the .063 bar. Naturally it will require the proper size chain, but I can buy a new Stihl .050 20 inch bar and chain for less than the .063 bar.
So, what I am looking for is - besides the obvious, what is the difference between the two width bars? What dictates which size bar/chain combo to run? and Why would someone be inclined to run a .063 bar/chain over the .050 combo and vice-versa?

Thanks in advance.
Chris

I suspect you could also find a brand x replacement bar in 0.063 gauge at similar cost to the half price of genuine Stihl. I was able to find a place overseas that has both those part numbers on their website and the price difference is not too great 35.64 vs 40.10 both prices in pounds inclusive of vat.
"Why would someone be inclined to run a .063 bar/chain over the .050 combo and vice-versa?"

The drive links should hold up a bit better being wider and fit the rim sprocket a bit better side to side.

Oiling most likely will be the most discussed answer but Stihl makes a couple of their skip chain in 0.050 only which to me seems to run counter to that line of thinking.

Generally the drive links are necked down for the bar slot so wear at the pivots does not need be considered.

A matter of what is either on hand or most likely to be found locally.