Unable to get cutters the same length.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all.
I am new to this site.
I have been cutting hedge for the last 20 years and have always had my chains sharpened by someone other than me. I decided to buy the oregon 520-120 sharpener. I am having trouble getting the cutters to come out the same length and I need advice.
Thank you!

Two main things to note:

Your grinder (a very nice one BTW) has instructions for centering the grinding wheels over the chain vise, in the instruction manual. This needs to be checked, periodically, as the wheels wear, and change diameter.

The other, is that these are semi-precision machines. My procedure (takes longer to read than to do!):

- grind all the cutters on one side (say, the Left cutters);
- grind one, test cutter in the other (Right) side;
- compare this test cutter, back-to-back, with one cutter from the other side, and adjust grinder settings (chain stop, wheel depth, etc.) as needed.

This becomes ‘automatic’ to me. I do my Left cutters first, back off the chain stop 1/4 to 1/2 turn, lower my grinder head stop the same, and I am usually right on.

IMG_5369.jpeg
Philbert

Yes sir, I have centered wheel over the vise as the manual states.
I am hoping that this problem is just me not knowing what I am doing yet. I just looked at some chains that I had sharpened at a local shop in Topeka Kansas. They are different lengths from right to left. but I am having problems getting the length the same on one side let alone right to left.

Once you set the chain stop on your grinder, all the cutters on that side should grind to the same length, angle, profile, etc., unless you change something.

Are you grinding with the profiled rim of the wheel, or the side of the wheel ?

For guys new to grinding I recommend taking an old or ‘scrap’ chain, and experimenting with it: