Where I Have The Most Trouble

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clayman

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
For some reason I just can't seem to get a tree notched right for falling. It's not that I don't know how it's supposed to be done, I do, or at least I think I do, and while I am doing it I think it is right, but after I am done I back off and look at the cut , or notch, and I see that at best it is a sloppy job; not level, not aimed right, Crap!! I think I need to get a can of spray paint and paint a pattern on the tree or something. I wish I had a level on my saw. (346 XP. 18" bar)

It's not like I am new at this, but It seems to have gotten worse over time. Now I have two dead oaks (+/- 18") that I have to fall on a dime, and I could use some advice. They are not leaning wrong, and I plan to put a cable on them, but there is only one spot I can put each one without getting a hung tree. Any advice??

It sounds like you might need to hire someone to drop them!!!

A couple of things I practice when placement is critical:
  • when you have the tree faced, push the bar to the back of the cut. Then use the front handle to check the aim. You can also use a framing square if you aren't comfortable using the saw handle and your saw doesn't have a gunning line. You might also want to use a Sharpie to draw a gunning line on the top cover. It might look a little weird, but if it makes for a safe falling, I would say it is worth it.
  • when you feel the tree beginning its lean, pause for a second to see if it is headed where you want. If you gun through the holding wood, you can't use it to correct the lay. Obviously this isn't something to do in certain situations, but in general it can be used to steer the tree as it commits by adjusting the feed to the off side of where you want it to go.