Algorithm for maximum diameter for a given bar length

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HelpfulHatchet

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have an 18" 2-cycle gas Craftsman saw. I volunteer in town helping folks too poor or too old to take care of downed trees on their home's property. I spoke with a disabled senior yesterday who said he thought the tree that blew over this week was close to 30" in diameter. I'm going to see if he can send a cellphone photo of it but it got me to thinking about what the maximum diameter I should attempt with my 18". I'm aware that > 18" can be done safely with proper technique (sources for these would be warmly received!) but which should I immediately seek a professoinal for?

I only work on fallen trees that do not pose a hazard for myself or the surrounding area. As an amateur I know my limits are tight and have no problem seeking help for projects that are beyond my skillset.

Thanks for reading!

In a big old growth a guy can bore out some of the heartwood if he makes a wide undercut to accommodate his motor. Probably limited to double the bar length with a 30” tree without doing some really weird stuff. My personal best in a sound tree was 6’ 9” inside the bark with a 36 on pretty flat ground up in the Gifford Pinchot. It school marmed up about 80 feet and didn’t have any noticeable taper so the first bucking cut wasn’t complete

In a case like that it might be possible to get say 8-10 ft lengths as close cut up as possible and then break apart with a winch or come along and then roll to complete, it’s common to cripple logs on steep ground to avoid being killed, just leave a post on the inside that doesn’t cause to much damage

Is that decause it doesnt have the power to make it through without overheating?