Climbing leaning trees that are nearly horizontal at the top

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SemperFiSawguy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
So i have a little over 2 years of commercial tree climbing experience. I own my own bussiness and do this everyday.
I live in SE MN, we have the bluff country down here and subsequently alot of homes along steep terrain. To go with this people build homes on the edges of the forest and the trees following the natural tendency for phototropism chase the light in the clearing enough to nearly be horizontal. Often times with nothing above them as a tie in point which makes conventional limb walking impossible. Most of the time for removals i am stuck climbing as high as i can with gaffs, and then awkardly crawling sloth style out onto the tops of these trees to negative rig them with an X ring located further back to allow for compression loading of the trunk as straight up and down as possible. Unfortunately, this is a time consuming, nerve racking endeavor. And my two lanyards become my lifelines. Short of a spider lift, (someday ill get one). Is there a better way? Im getting my ass kicked on these and i run into them frequently. Im entirely self taught in all of this, i dont work with other climbers as i am one of 2 in the whole area i service. Ill post a picture of one i can draw up as a reference to give a better idea of what im struggling with.

Here is a horribly drawn rough sketch of what im dealing with on this job im doing Monday. Tree is a shagbark hickory.

Attachments

• Snapchat-1351683915.jpg
    Snapchat-1351683915.jpg
    270.5 KB · Views: 56
I am going to wait wait to reply because I am tired and irritable after a long day, but one thing I am curious about is in your signature, you call yourself a 'Tree Surgeon',,are you?,
Jeff,
It was a beautiful tiring day!