Electric wedge

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

d0m3n

Reaction score
I'm a mechanical engineering student and I have to design a battery powered felling wedge, there are hydraulic and manual options available like this one. I never cut down a tree myself so I wanted to ask people with experience in this field, what would be the requirements and wishes for such a device.
It will be used on trees with diameters ranging from 8 to 40 inches. What weight would be accetable, how many trees should the battery last, how important is it to operate the wedge from a safe distance, is the horizontal movement speed important? What would you be willing to pay for it? Who would use it, I'm guessing people who cut a lot of trees down, what are their needs? Are there any other important or desired specifications that come to mind? Why wouldn't you want to use it?

Thanks very much for your insight.

I'm a mechanical engineering student and I have to design a battery powered felling wedge, there are hydraulic and manual options available like this one. I never cut down a tree myself so I wanted to ask people with experience in this field, what would be the requirements and wishes for such a device.
It will be used on trees with diameters ranging from 8 to 40 inches. What weight would be accetable, how many trees should the battery last, how important is it to operate the wedge from a safe distance, is the horizontal movement speed important? What would you be willing to pay for it? Who would use it, I'm guessing people who cut a lot of trees down, what are their needs? Are there any other important or desired specifications that come to mind? Why wouldn't you want to use it?

Thanks very much for your insight.

For a production faller,(which I'm hardly close to one) it needs to be bullet proof, under say 5 pounds (2.3 kilo) and fit in your pocket