Is logging still a viable career path?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thumbilly

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So i got offered a logging job last week. Im currently a machinist but have a small fire wood/ logging operation on the side. Im really torn about what i should do. Stay where im at or go do what a i truly have a passion for. Theres a ton variables. But i was just looking for some words of advice from people in the industry. Im less than happy at my current job. Not really because of the work. More so the environment and my coworkers. But i have a fair bit of benefits, health insurance, life insurance, some vacation days. The logging job has none of that and would be a cash or 1099 type thing. Im just not sure. Any advice would be more than welcome.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

I feel your pain. I've been in the same situation for four years. I can actually make more money by quitting my job, but can't constitute paying $2000 a month for health insurance!

Anyways, if you can afford it, go for it! A lot of people are gonna tell you to do what you love, but unfortunately that's not always the best choice. Myself, I have three people that depend on me and although doing what I like would make me happy, I'm not gonna take a chance like that for their sake. There are some scenarios for me that can and will work, just a matter of time. Who knows. As for your situation, you're the only one who knows.

I will say this, the sky is the limit when working for yourself, but the mountains are much higher and the valleys are way lower!

Sent from my XT1030 using Tapatalk