Novice to Chainsaws - Just bought zero hours Poulan Pro 5020av 20" 2-stroke gas chainsaw. Questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LarzWalker

Reaction score
The Story:

Last night I had a need to replace a Poulan Pro 16" 33cc saw for my roommate and the replacement of course had to be as good or better than what he had that I THOUGHT I had damaged. It recently became my job to drop a bunch of trees (mostly red oak) and clean up dozens of downed trees around the house on our 50 acre horse farm of sorts where we currently rent a house, so our power bill won't skyrocket and drive my roommate over the edge. Lol

For the last 25 years I've been in software development but prior to that I spent about 8 years working with my stepfather who was a class A building contractor. As a carpenter I used many different power saws including chain saws. But it was rare and brief that I worked with a chainsaw. So, I'm offensively ignorant on the subject. For the next month while I get us set up for firewood the rest of the year, but drop a dozen or so other trees, cut rounds, split, stack and let them start seasoning NOW for next season.

When I thought I burnt his saw up yesterday I immediately started searching everywhere for a suitable replacement before telling him. He overreacts and I didn't want to hear it. Lol and on Craigslist I found this PP5020AV 20" 50 cc saw that was at a reputable Richmond pawnshop for just $70. And from the one picture, it looked well taken care of. AND, as luck would have it I had a doctor's appointment today just 4 blocks from the pawn shop. Which is an hour and 20 minutes away from my home, so I took it as fate. I couldn't find anything close to what he already had anywhere else at that point, for less than $125-150 and they were all over the state.