Stihl 070 no spark

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisAndersonst

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Died while slabbing; pulled the spark plug, no spark against block; changed plug, still no spark, although a thin spark can be seen when a screwdriver is inserted into the HT lead in the boot and touched against block. Pulled flywheel cover and expected points absent, but electronic gubbins instead. I'm new to this, can anyone advise me what to try next?
Thanks in advance.

Is the HT lead in good order and kill switch not grounding out anywhere?
Post up a picture of what's under the flywheel if you can. There were electronic versions of these, although never seemingly mentioned in literature.
This is the earlier of the two points versions;

attachment.php

Thanks for the prompt replies. The HT lead and kill switch seem to be in good order - no signs of chafing or damage. Here is a peek under the flywheel cover - looks different from yours.
View attachment 263587

Last edited:
The module is probably bad. This is definitely the downside of the electronic ignitions with these. You should be able to easily replace it with an aftermarket one or buy a new one from pacific stihl.

Those ignitions are rare and no literature seems to exist for them. They still used a condenser and it is likely that which is at fault. Even more so given your description of being able to obtain spark via a screwdriver. You can check to see if it charges/discharges or measure the capacitance. I don't know if a suitable replacement could be found though. Likewise with the coil, you can measure the resistance of the primary and secondary windings to check it is good. Again if it were found to be bad I don't know if an aftermarket coil or an OEM one from the points set up could be used.
You can buy an aftermarket electronic set up. Like this;