What rope/rigging to buy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Subitech

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am by no means a pro climber but more of a DIYer. I have a piece of property that absolutely got destroyed by a wind storm about 2 months ago. I have not climbed in about 12 years and have started climbing again. I never used a climbing line for safety because I was stupid. Now that I am older and wiser, I am looking to rig up a climbing line. I figure I will use a sand bag/throw line to get the desired rope placement but that is about as far as my knowledge goes. What is the preferred climbing line for life support. What is the preferred cordage to tie between my harness D-rings to clip into from my climbing line. Hopefully this makes sense to someone because I really don't know the verbage to be using.

Cheers
Jim

Honestly if you don't have REAL IN TREE EXPERIENCE you might save a lot of money by just paying a professional to do the work. Just tell them you want them to do the climbing and you will haul away the mess to make it cheaper. They will adjust the price accordingly.

But if you must:
First things first, and that's safety.
Always wear a helmet and ALWAYS tie in TWICE. Never climb alone.
I am speaking from experience, young and naive, I have made my share of mistakes that have cost me both money and bodily injury. not worth the risk!

Easiset/cheapest climbing method IMO would be to DDRT with a blakes hitch . You can purchase some mechanical ascenders to help ascend into the tree. While climbing DDRT you should also have on a lanyard, successfully allowing you to "Tie in Twice" .

You should buy all your gear from a reputable site. Like Treestuff.com
DONT try to use roofing harness/rock climbing harnes/rope from Home Depot.
Buy equipment that's MADE for trees.