ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Who made this Craftsman?

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by dougand3, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Got this saw in a trade in. I'm thinking it looks Mac-ish but see Made in Japan.
    Kioritz-Echo?

    20190413_122217.jpg 20190413_122233.jpg 20190413_122257.jpg 20190413_122307.jpg 20190413_122320.jpg
     
  2. Colt Marlington

    Colt Marlington ArboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    720
    Location:
    Texas
    Redmax....I think. Or I guess Zenoah would be the manufacturer.
     
    cus_deluxe and dougand3 like this.
  3. ray benson

    ray benson Tree Freak

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    24,934
    Likes Received:
    69,691
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a note on craftsman manufacturers numbers document.
    Craftsman incorrectly used the Poulan 358 prefix on a Redmax chainsaw. Model 358.362180 is Redmax, possibly the GZ4000.
     
    smokey7, JeremiahJohnson and dougand3 like this.
  4. brandonstc6

    brandonstc6 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Most definitely redmax


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  5. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Thanks, guys. Parts prices are ridiculous searching under 358362180. I'll look at GZ4000 parts.
     
  6. Streblerm

    Streblerm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    There are lots of saws out there very similar to that saw, clones and rebadged. Made in Japan definitely makes it a GZ4000. I have a G400 redmax. Same saw, made in China. Ryobi had a version of it as well. Then there are the clones like the earthquakes and blue max chainsaws. Most of the clones aren’t Strato saws.

    That’s a good one, a true pro saw design. It’s a keeper if you want a 40cc saw.
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  7. brandonstc6

    brandonstc6 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I have a co-worker that has one in the redmax variety. I’m trying to get him to let me fix it or buy it. I believe it needs an Oiler.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  8. TheBrushSlasher

    TheBrushSlasher I have chainsaws and chainsaw accessories.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    California
    As stated above it is a redmax/zenoah. Excellent saws that don't come up for sale used very often. The only direct clone of the gz4000 was one made for mcculloch by Jenn Feng Taiwan.
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  9. TheBrushSlasher

    TheBrushSlasher I have chainsaws and chainsaw accessories.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    California
    The Oiler and worm gear are pretty cheap on ebay. An adjustable Oiler is a good upgrade if it does not have one.
     
    brandonstc6 likes this.
  10. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Thanks for all the insight. Saw won't pop with fuel charge. 93 PSI (with tiny 10mm adapter). But it doesn't feel like good compression - can even tell through the easy pull recoil. The muffler support bracket screws into a permanent dawg - that screw is SEIZED in there. I've buggered up the head. Gotta get torch and screw extractor on it before I can peek inside.
     
  11. TheBrushSlasher

    TheBrushSlasher I have chainsaws and chainsaw accessories.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    California
    I believe they used loctite on that screw because when I removed the muffler on my redmax/ryobi version it was real p.i.t.a at first but after that it would always come loose after a few hours of cutting. Pull the muffler if you can and check for any scratches or streaks on the piston.
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  12. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Whew, it's ugly in there. Cyl has gouges, too. I found a used Mac MS4018 topend with intake that looks real similar except non-strato. Cheap enough that I bought it. Dying for this saw to run.
    And they did use LOTSA Loctite on muff support.

    20190415_200608.jpg
     
  13. brandonstc6

    brandonstc6 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3,004
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    Location:
    Mississippi
    What about a bluemax top end?
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  14. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Thanks. I'll keep Bluemax in mind if Mac 4018 doesn't work.
     
  15. TheBrushSlasher

    TheBrushSlasher I have chainsaws and chainsaw accessories.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    California
    The 4018 is made by Jenn Feng and has the same Strato ports but the plastic intake does have them. Imo they run better with the Stratos functioning, I'm betting the seal listed at 7 failed because that happened with mine.
    http://www.redmaxpartsdirect.com/manuals.php?model=GZ4000

    Those won't fit on the crankcase of this saw, that cylinder is a little bigger at the base and the lip of the cylinder wall will not fit into the case opening. I'm very familiar with most saws of redmax design.
     
    dougand3 and brandonstc6 like this.
  16. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    I'm guessing JF intake does NOT have them. Makes sense. I was wondering about the cubbyholes above the intake throat...ah, just a blocker! Here is 4018 what I bought:

    4018 I bought.jpg

    Here is my Craftsman 358362180. So, the #7 seal is inside the insulator assy and removed/changed when assy pulled off cyl? It is REALLY stuck on there - trying not to trash gasket.

    20190416_083554.jpg
     
  17. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Got the used Mac MS4018AV topend installed. Base Gasket Delete w/ Motoseal. Had to trim 1/8" off the chassis vertical wall or intake hit it. Only 130 PSI but with 10mm adapter w/o schrader valve. Carb is a Zama C1Q-Z6. They have the jets taper proof. Tried the non strato intake and couldn't get a good throttle up. Tried a Chinese 45 52 58cc carb - linkages lined up perfectly. Carb has 2 impulse holes - 12 o/c and top nipple for hose. Saw ran great...for 1 min - smooth idle, smooth throttle to WOT. Then ran erratically and died. Would not restart w/o fuel prime. I guessing a hunk of motoseal plugged impulse. Will check that next. And I'll try strato intake, as well.

    20190420_190458.jpg 20190421_175734.jpg 20190421_190303.jpg 20190421_195516.jpg
     
  18. TheBrushSlasher

    TheBrushSlasher I have chainsaws and chainsaw accessories.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    California
    Did you check the impulse hole to see if it was completely open, my other saws have that carburetor and the hole is not completely drilled out.
     
    dougand3 likes this.
  19. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    I'll check impulse hole, too.
     
  20. dougand3

    dougand3 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    741
    Location:
    North Alabama
    You are so right - impulse hole is blocked 2 ways. Had to drill hole on cube AND on underside of top plate to get impulse to the fuel pump diaphragm. Had to get another carb because I ham fisted 1st cube drill all the way into carb throat. LOL
    Now, to air filter. It's strato 2 hole type and doesn't fit with non strato intake because of tall cubby holes. What are the cubby holes on non strato? Cooling?
    The strato intake leaks but I could use it with the block off gasket on non strato intake.
    What's better - cut cubby holes out of the way or use strato intake with non strato gasket?
     

Share This Page