new saw break-in (441)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nctacoma

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Greetings, after much great advice from this forum and the fact that I work right across the street from a Stihl dealer, I decided to buy a 441 today.

I haven't looked through the owners manual yet, but do you all have any recommendations for breaking in a new saw? Any procedures that I should follow?

I guess this could be tailored to the 441, but also would be very helpful for other new saw owners with different models as well.

I am a Newb, so excuse my ignorance and thank you all for helping me spend my money. Now hopefully I can extinguish the burning hole in my pocket, now that the money is all gone. :biggrinbounce2:

I buy several new saws a year...And I don't do anything special.I just begin running it normally.The engine will break itself in.

Welcome to AS!

Congrats on your new aquisition. There's alot of talk here about that particular saw. Sounds like you made a good choice.

Break-in? I'd have to say break that baby in with a nice muffler mod.:laugh:
It has a cooped up muffler that could benefit from better breathing.

Just don't run it WOT without it being in the wood for about 5 tanks or so. Otherwise run it like you stole it!

Have fun and nice choice!

Greetings, after much great advice from this forum and the fact that I work right across the street from a Stihl dealer, I decided to buy a 441 today.

I haven't looked through the owners manual yet, but do you all have any recommendations for breaking in a new saw? Any procedures that I should follow?

I guess this could be tailored to the 441, but also would be very helpful for other new saw owners with different models as well.