Husqvarna roller file guide

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kemper

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I was looking at the husqvarna roller file guide,looks like it would be a little better than freehand filing,will they work with oregon full chisel chain?

I was looking at the husqvarna roller file guide,looks like it would be a little better than freehand filing,will they work with oregon full chisel chain?

They sure will, they are made for Oregon chain - just make sure you get the right one!

Being a newb, I bought a few types to try. Well, all of them, I think. LOL.
The std. thin plate guide, the roller guide, the Oregon clamp-on, some triangle shaped one, and the Husky/Pferd that has the raker file built in. I like the last one best. It's also nice that it has a 35 deg. angle guide that matches my chain.
The roller would be my 2nd choice. It's small and easy to use but I think it's at 30 deg. so you'd have to eyeball it if your teeth aren't 30 deg., or just change them to 30.

Last edited:
For filing the teeth I like the Stihl clamp in file guide or the Oregon snap file guide. For setting the raker height I use the Husky roller apparatus.

I use one and I like the way that it works. They have them in stock at the Lowes stores around me.

Yea i saw that they had different ones avalible,i think i will order me one.

Thanks for the info.

Make sure you get one of the combo ones, with the raker guide as well, that one works really well - the most important function of the roller guide itself is keeping the file at the correct hight.

i love the roller guide. just make sure you get chain that has a witness mark on it so you can see what the angle is supposed to be. its awesome!

I've decided I like the roller guide better than the combo file I was using.
Plus, it's handier to keep with me in the woods.