028 problem. Points to solid state?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chainsaw kid

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey guys.
First off, I would like to introduce myself. I'm new to the forum and like small engines and most of all chainsaws. I am a aviation mechanic but I do a lot of tinkering outside of work on cars, lawn mowers, chainsaws etc. I live in N.H and burn wood for heat. I get my wood from helping people remove trees the side of the road or however I can get it. I'm a Stihl fan. I bought an 025 back in Jan 2001 and been really using that saw for all it's worth. It always starts and cuts great. It has 18'' bar w/325 chain.
Now, as far as the 028....I got this saw off craigslist for $25.00 brought it home (compression was @ 145 cold) gased it up and it ran. The guy I got it from bought it new back in 1983 as far as he could remember and said it hasn't had much use in all these years (it sat most of the time). Anyhow, I wasn't to impressed w/ the way it cut...seemed tired (I only cut a few pieces). So I rebuilt the carb and the thing woke up!
After tweeking the carb (letting it four stroke on the top a little) and cutting for about ten min I put the saw down and let it idle for about a min or so then when I picked it back up and gave it throttle it sounded like it was braking-up and wouldn't rev but it would idle fine. If you keep messing with it you could get it going again and it would cut good w/out bogging down but if you let it come down to an idle the same thing would happen.
I was thinking it was an ignition problem. Replaced the plug same thing happened after it warmed up. Cleaned the points...same thing. Now I'm thinking it could be the condenser. But I don't know if the coil is braking down either. All these parts add up.